Perfect combinations – Eggplant salad with tomatoes

Since I was a little kid and eggplants were to be found in my village only during summertime, me and my brother had grown an obsession for this homemade delicious dish. So at 34 degrees (Celsius) usually my mom and probably all the other moms everywhere in Romania used to cook the eggplants on the stove and prepare the eggplant salad with onions. Best served with fresh garden tomatoes on top. I remember we would eat it all in a day: morning, evening, between play times, before going to bed, just anytime!

Now when I can find the frozen or readily prepared I just eat but still wait for the summer to have local produce and to cook it myself. The ingredients are just eggplants, sunflower oil and onion.

Check out the recipe …http://www.len.ro/cooking/eggplant-salad/

somewhat explained, it actually misses the part on how to chop the cooked eggplants with this wooden instrument:

from here ( http://bucataria-mea.blogspot.com/2010/06/vinete-cu-maioneza-si-ceapa-calita.html)

You will see in this blog that most of what Romanians use as ingredients for cooking is coming straight from the garden/local farms, and the recipes are extremely simple.

P.S. A lot of people add mayo to this recipe, but I just find it healthier like this.

1st pic from here (http://www.cevabun.ro/salata-de-vinete-cu-maioneza/)

Leave a Reply

